So the fourth of July is coming soon, which means that good old family tradition of sticking your dick in your cousin’s vag time. It means hamburgers, hot dogs and the good old tradition of applejack pie.

“Okay, enough with the Red, White, and Blue already, Grass.”

Fair enough, technician Luna. So let me be honest here, the 4th is a boring holiday celebrated by a few yanks every year to claim independence and yet here we are depending on our government to bail us out; Ironic isn’t it. For the last 4 years since the end of Bush’s Reign of Supremacy, prices have gone up, livelihood has gone down and production has gone down. So let me get today’s blog post started with this. Believe it or not we’re getting an Elite Beat Agents FF game.

Want To Play A Full Final Fantasy Game With Rhythm Combat

There’s a new Final Fantasygame coming out tomorrow.Don’t get too excited: this isn’t Final Fantasy XV. There are no next-gen graphics or melodramatic stories here. Instead, Square Enix will release Theatrhythm Final Fantasy, a 3DS game that is best described as “Elite Beat Agents with Final Fantasy music,” or “the game that makes everyone on the subway stare at you and think things like ‘why is that asshole tapping so much?'”

I’ll have a full review up on Kotaku tomorrow, but my initial reaction to this game is: why doesn’t Square Enix turn it into a real RPG?

Here’s the thing about Theatrhythm: this is a game designed to appeal to that part of your brain that fondly remembers running home from school to scarf down pasta and glue your eyes to the television for marathon sessions of Final Fantasy IV. You’ll spend the bulk of your time tapping your 3DS’s bottom screen to the beat of old-school tunes from every numbered Final Fantasy game before #14. There are a bunch of different modes of play, but they’re presented in a menu hub that is more a collection of ten-minute-at-a-time mini-games than any sort of coherent, full-fledged narrative experience.

Yet games like Sequence have proven (quite well) that this Dance Dance Revolution-inspired tapping frenzy can work as part of a larger campaign too. Why not design some sort of an RPG that uses rhythm as its main combat mechanic?

See, what’s great about Theatrhythm‘s tapping is that it feels like you’re playing against your own limitations. Instead of facing off against some arbitrarily-difficult creation of some bored programmer in Osaka, you’re fighting your body’s lack of rhythm. And getting better requires practice, not level grinding.

What if there was a game that took that mechanic and added a full-fledged campaign? You’d explore a new world. You’d collect items and party members. You’d participate in a story. You’d defeat enemies by tapping along to increasingly tricky beats, some of which could be altered by your characters’ equipment and skills.

We’ve yet to see a story-heavy, AAA game with this type of skill-centric combat system. I’d love to see Square Enix experiment with the idea. Why not? And, hey: I hear of a certain console coming out in the near future that might just be the perfect fit.

A musical final fantasy isn’t a bad idea, but it sounds very awkward. I will give Square Enix an A+ for attempt at originality, because originality is so hard to stumble upon these days that it’s almost become a novelty of sorts. Ironic, the game industry used to be full  of originality, then FPS came along and shot it all down. I’m talking to you Activision and your shitty CoD games; “Why fix what isn’t broken?” you say? Well, the problem is a game should be ENTERTAINING, not repetitive; Chalk up another generic shooter for the masses. American’s love their first dick shooters so much, we made a company solely to provide for it. And not just one company, but at least a dozen, all producing the same generic shit that made Halo popular. Bungie knew how to make a shooter fun and not stupid. I admit, Halo is still loads of fun with friends and occasionally if you decide to do a Halo get together, it can be really fun. But it isn’t the element of FPS that makes it fun, it’s friends and enjoying a game that made the industry top teir for a few years before the cancer came back to kill everyone.

With that said and done, I should say that Bronycon was a pretty big success, and people enjoyed it. I didn’t attend myself, what being a couple thousand miles away from NY and not being able to afford a plane ticket, but that’s beside the point. It is good to here from the people that went to Bronycon though and how much they loved it. You can see a lot of the panels on Equestria Daily from the last few days including a panel by Faust.
It’s been a while since I posted so music so here you go.

Excuse the lack of space formatting here, because WordPress is extraordinarily dumb. Let’s move on shall we?

 

 

Sword, Sandwich Used in Attack on Women, Deputies Say

 

A Winter Haven man remained in jail Sunday after he was accused of attacking three women with a 4-foot sword and a peanut-butter sandwich, according to the Polk County Sheriff’s Office.

Mark Christopher Miller, 50, used the sword to threaten two women, one of them pregnant, and then smeared another with the sandwich before the deputies hauled him away, according to his arrest report.

As the deputies drove him to jail, Miller ripped a piece of padding from the inside of the patrol car with his teeth, the report says.

The fracas began when Miller heard a disturbance outside his mobile home at 2500 U.S. 92 W. No. 18A. He exited, sword in hand, and “poked” it at the 6-month pregnant woman’s stomach, the report says. She managed to grab the blade and stop him from stabbing her.

 

 

And there’s this…

 

Man arrested for theft, told police he borrowed car from ‘Brittany Spears’

CLEVES, Ohio – Police arrested a man Sunday morning in Cleves after he was found in a car that didn’t belong to him, but he claimed it belonged to his friend, “Brittany Spears.”

Deputies with the Hamilton County Sheriff’s Office say Brian Burton, 43, was arrested on Valley Junction Road.

Deputies say Burton was seen inside a parked car that didn’t belong to him. He then fled the scene and was found at a nearby homeless camp under a bridge.

During an interview with deputies, Burton allegedly admitted he was in the car, but said he thought it was his friend “Brittany Spears’” car, according to court paperwork.

Police did not say if Burton meant “Britney Spears,” the American recording artist and entertainer. It is not know if the famous singer owns a vehicle registered in Ohio, but Spears currently resides in California.

Burton was allegedly found to have marijuana in his pockets.

Burton was charged with attempted theft and possession of drugs, both misdemeanors. Police don’t say what Burton allegedly tried to steal leading to the theft charge.

Officials have not released any additional details at this time.

Oh and apparently, farting can cure high blood pressure.

Hydrogen sulphide — a toxic gas generated by bacteria living in the human gut — has been shown to control blood pressure in mice.

Those with higher levels of the gas had lower blood pressure than rodents with less.

Boffins at Johns Hopkins University, in Baltimore, Maryland, US, found that hydrogen sulphide in flatus — informally known as a fart — is also produced by an enzyme in blood vessels where it relaxes them and lowers blood pressure.

Now researchers at China’s Southeast University in Nanjing are trying to work out whether this could be used to create a treatment for people suffering high blood pressure.

Professor Yao Yuyu from the uni’s Zhongda Hospital said: “Despite the treatment’s potential, using gas to treat high blood pressure has yet to be tested on humans.

“The effective dosage could prove difficult to establish due to the difference in size between humans and mice.”

He added: “The gas could also have negative effects on other parts of the body.”

 

This deserves a no-shit-Sherlock stamp of approval. When has keeping noxious gases in one’s body ever been good.

 

Anderson Cooper: “The Fact Is, I’m Gay.”

 

Last week, Entertainment Weeklyran a story on an emerging trend: gay people in public life who come out in a much more restrained and matter-of-fact way than in the past. In many ways, it’s a great development: we’re evolved enough not to be gob-smacked when we find out someone’s gay. But it does matter nonetheless, it seems to me, that this is on the record. We still have pastors calling for the death of gay people, bullying incidents and suicides among gay kids, and one major political party dedicated to ending the basic civil right to marry the person you love. So these “non-events” are still also events of a kind; and they matter. The visibility of gay people is one of the core means for our equality.

All of which is a prelude to my saying that I’ve known Anderson Cooper as a friend for more than two decades. I asked him for his feedback on this subject, for reasons that are probably obvious to most. Here’s his email in response which he has given me permission to post here:

Andrew, as you know, the issue you raise is one that I’ve thought about for years. Even though my job puts me in the public eye, I have tried to maintain some level of privacy in my life. Part of that has been for purely personal reasons. I think most people want some privacy for themselves and the people they are close to.

But I’ve also wanted to retain some privacy for professional reasons. Since I started as a reporter in war zones 20 years ago, I’ve often found myself in some very dangerous places. For my safety and the safety of those I work with, I try to blend in as much as possible, and prefer to stick to my job of telling other people’s stories, and not my own. I have found that sometimes the less an interview subject knows about me, the better I can safely and effectively do my job as a journalist.

I’ve always believed that who a reporter votes for, what religion they are, who they love, should not be something they have to discuss publicly. As long as a journalist shows fairness and honesty in his or her work, their private life shouldn’t matter. I’ve stuck to those principles for my entire professional career, even when I’ve been directly asked “the gay question,” which happens occasionally. I did not address my sexual orientation in the memoir I wrote several years ago because it was a book focused on war, disasters, loss and survival. I didn’t set out to write about other aspects of my life.

Recently, however, I’ve begun to consider whether the unintended outcomes of maintaining my privacy outweigh personal and professional principle. It’s become clear to me that by remaining silent on certain aspects of my personal life for so long, I have given some the mistaken impression that I am trying to hide something – something that makes me uncomfortable, ashamed or even afraid. This is distressing because it is simply not true.

I’ve also been reminded recently that while as a society we are moving toward greater inclusion and equality for all people, the tide of history only advances when people make themselves fully visible. There continue to be far too many incidences of bullying of young people, as well as discrimination and violence against people of all ages, based on their sexual orientation, and I believe there is value in making clear where I stand.

The fact is, I’m gay, always have been, always will be, and I couldn’t be any more happy, comfortable with myself, and proud.

I have always been very open and honest about this part of my life with my friends, my family, and my colleagues. In a perfect world, I don’t think it’s anyone else’s business, but I do think there is value in standing up and being counted. I’m not an activist, but I am a human being and I don’t give that up by being a journalist.

 

Since my early days as a reporter, I have worked hard to accurately and fairly portray gay and lesbian people in the media – and to fairly and accurately portray those who for whatever reason disapprove of them. It is not part of my job to push an agenda, but rather to be relentlessly honest in everything I see, say and do. I’ve never wanted to be any kind of reporter other than a good one, and I do not desire to promote any cause other than the truth.

Being a journalist, traveling to remote places, trying to understand people from all walks of life, telling their stories, has been the greatest joy of my professional career, and I hope to continue doing it for a long time to come. But while I feel very blessed to have had so many opportunities as a journalist, I am also blessed far beyond having a great career.

I love, and I am loved.

In my opinion, the ability to love another person is one of God’s greatest gifts, and I thank God every day for enabling me to give and share love with the people in my life. I appreciate your asking me to weigh in on this, and I would be happy for you to share my thoughts with your readers. I still consider myself a reserved person and I hope this doesn’t mean an end to a small amount of personal space. But I do think visibility is important, more important than preserving my reporter’s shield of privacy.

 

Well well, AC is gay, holy crap; That’s some amazing news to me. This is journalism at it’s best folks, truly. Let’s give these people a round of applause. And for our final news today…

 

 

UK’s teenage girls are biggest binge drinkers in Europe as more than half of 15-year-olds drink to excess at least once a month

By Daniel Martin

Teenage girls in Britain are more likely to be binge drinkers than anywhere else in Europe, according to a devastating dossier on our nation’s problems with alcohol.

More than half of girls aged 15 and 16 say they drink to excess at least once a month.

The shocking figure also means the UK is one of the few countries where the girls binge-drink more than boys.

The paper, drawn up by the Department of Health, also revealed that the debilitating effects of drink cost the UK economy more than £21billion a year.

The NHS now spends £3.5billion a year dealing with drink – up 30 per cent in just three years – thanks to a relentless rise in the number of alcohol-related hospital admissions. In 2003, our death rate from chronic liver disease overtook that of France for the first time.

In its submission to a Commons health select committee inquiry, the Department of Health also warns more than 60 diseases and conditions – including heart disease, stroke, liver disease and cancer – can be directly linked to alcohol.

It warns that young adults who ‘pre-load’ on drink at home before they go out to the pub are more likely to get involved in crime.

The 33-page submission cites a 2007 report of the European School Survey Project on Alcohol and other Drugs, which questioned children across the continent on how much they drink.

In the research, overall British children aged 15 and 16 were the fifth most likely in Europe to have had a binge-drinking episode – defined as having had five or more drinks on at least one occasion – in the previous month.

However, among girls aged 15 and 16, Britain comes out worst – with 55 per cent of girls saying they had drunk to excess over the month, the worst figure in Europe.

Among boys, the figure is 52 per cent. For boys and girls overall, the UK is behind only Malta, Portugal, Estonia and Latvia.

The survey found Danish children drank more, but this was dismissed as an unreliable figure by researchers because the sample size in that country was so small.

The DoH submission said: ‘The UK is consistently in the top five European countries for binge drinking and drunkenness among school children.’

The paper blamed the availability of cheap drink in supermarkets for the pre-loading trend, which it said was having ‘significant impacts on health and crime’.

Amongst girls aged 15 and 16, Britain comes out as the worst in Europe for binge drinking

It adds: ‘In a recent study, 66 per cent of 17- to 30-year-olds arrested in a city in England claimed to have pre-loaded before a night out, with pre-loaders two-and-a-half times more likely to be involved in violence than other drinkers.

‘This has contributed to a fifth of all violent incidents in or around a pub or club.’

Every year, drink costs the nation £21billion – £11billion in crime, £3.5billion for the NHS, and £7.3billion in lost productivity such as sickness absence and premature deaths, the submission said.

In just three years, the NHS bill rose by 30 per cent, from £2.7billion. The number of alcohol-related hospital admissions has risen by 4 per cent a year every year from 2002 to 2010.

Liver disease – usually linked to alcohol – costs the NHS £1billion a year, the paper said.

About 9 per cent of men and 4 per cent of women are drinking at harmful levels, or more than 50 units and 35 units a week, it said.

‘More than 90 per cent who sustain drinking at these levels will go on to develop excessive fat accumulation in their livers – this is reversible if drinking is reduced but, if not, 15 to 30 per cent of those will develop more serious inflammation, and up to 10 per cent could develop cirrhosis. The Government believes such severe financial pressure on the NHS from liver disease, as this is a preventable illness, is unacceptable.

‘The rate of liver deaths in the UK has nearly quadrupled over 40 years; a very different trend from most other European countries.’

An estimated 1.6million people are moderately or severely dependent on alcohol – up 24 per cent between 2000 and 2007.

Alcohol-specific deaths soared 30 per cent between 2001 and 2010 – at the same time as deaths from all causes fell by 7 per cent.

Drinking before the age of 15 carries a series of possible health risks and other harms, including truancy, exclusion and lower educational attainment; involvement in violence; suicidal thoughts and attempts; sexually transmitted infections; and problems in getting and keeping a job.

Warnings: Suzi Fox, 22, from Sherborne, who has turned her life around and away from drink and drugs

By MARIO LEDWITH

A young woman who began binge drinking when she was just 11 years old has told how she could have ‘drunk myself to death’ after her habit spiralled out of control.

Suzi Fox’s years of addiction led to her sleeping rough as well as suffering permanent liver damage.

At her lowest point the mother-of-one, who is now 22, was hospitalised after drinking 100 units of alcohol in one sitting.

At the age of 13, she started skipping school with friends to drink beer and smoke cannabis in the park.

She soon moved on to spirits, drinking large amounts of vodka and rum, and said she could ‘easily polish off a crate of beer – 24 cans – and a bottle of vodka in a day’. After an argument with her parents, Miss Fox began living in foster care and by the age of 16, her alcohol addiction led to her sleeping rough.

While homeless, her drinking became so dangerous she was frequently rushed to hospital after heavy binges.

Miss Fox, from Sherborne, Dorset, said: ‘I barely drink at all now because when I have a few sips of wine my liver swells up and I look like I’m nine months’ pregnant.’

As well as liver damage, the years of drinking and drug abuse have badly affected her sight in one eye.

‘I woke up one morning after a big session and realised I could not see out of my left eye,’ she said. The doctor was not sure what happened but I’m pretty sure it was because of the drinking.’

She added: ‘I can only see light and blurs in the eye and have trouble keeping my balance sometimes.’

Miss Fox is now retaking a GCSE in English and plans to go to college.

She also hopes to work with young women, warning them about the dangers of binge drinking.

She said: ‘I am living proof that drink and drugs are not cool and can lead to health problems.

‘I would love to speak to other young people and give them help. I’m lucky to be alive – I could have drunk myself to death.

‘I don’t want anyone else to make the same mistake.’

Okay I lied, this is the last post.
Author: Artefact

Serious doubts are being raised as to whether Nintendo’s upcoming Wii U console has the power to support more than one of its wonder-controllers in play, something Nintendo seems to have been keeping quiet by only showing it running with one controller…

The problems were raised by Dean Takahashi, a prominent games journalist (for what this is worth), when he was interviewed about Nintendo’s E3 showing:

With Nintendo, where do you think they came up short in the way they showed the Wii U?

They have a major issue with the capability of the Wii U console where it has a single processor but it has to drive multiple displays.

A single graphics chip inside the console has to drive the big screen, the main game screen, but it also has to provide the imagery for the tablet controller, the game pad.

And yet the system itself isn’t that powerful. Nintendo only showed games with one game pad controller and the TV.

Most games out there, if you’re in a social setting, you want two controllers. Nintendo didn’t show any games that do that.

They admitted in a Q&A that the games are going to run slower if you have two game pads and playing on a main display. That’s a fairly big issue for them.

They made a good case that you can play with one controller and multiple Wii controllers, what they call asymmetric gaming where one person is looking at the small tablet screen and trying to deploy zombies while the people playing with the controllers were all on the main screen. You come up with very creative, different kinds of games where it’s one against four, or one person going online.

They tried to justify and turn into an advantage this major weakness of the Wii U, but I think a lot of people saw this as a weakness.

[…]

Nintendo came up as a pretty big disappointment at E3.

The fact that the Wii U’s graphical capabilities can apparently barely hold their own against the existing generation of consoles has already provoked much debate, one that looks set to intensify should it be true that it can barely drive its own controller – not that this necessarily matters if Nintendo can sell as many of the consoles to children and old people as they apparently hope.

That’s our show for today, don’t forget to subscribe to this blog if you enjoy reading it. And as always, this is Grass signing out.